I’d like to book a Trash-room please!

Yes, this is a real room type – in a hotel, and for sleeping in – not a place for putting the rubbish 😉

Today my work started late and with a hotel pick-up. Nothing particularly unusual about that. As the summer holiday season winds down, and we head into the shorter days, my guests are usually in Helsinki for a longer stay, and my booking situation becomes much more flexible.

My destination was Hotel Finn / Hotelli Finn. My first surprise was that reception is actually on the 6th floor – although the hotel is situated on one of the busiest terrace streets in Helsinki (visit 10:00 pm on a Friday night and you’ll see what I mean!), the hotel occupies to the top two floors and I imagine would be very quiet.

The next surprise was that there are 35 rooms over two floors, although right now due to some renovation works there are only 17 available…  I tried to get some pricing information, but the best I could get was that it depends on availability. I did find out that the dog supplement is 15€ per dog. Not too bad.

After chatting with the lovely receptionist I thought I should check it out for myself and that’s when I found out about the Trash-Room! In their words – this is a Trash room for 1:

Our new lightly renovated Trash-design rooms are budget, single rooms with a twist. All of the furniture are made from recycled materials specifically for us by local carpenters.

They are not fancy, but for a quick visit to the city they have everything you need.

Judging by the pictures they look quite compact, as well as being bright and cheerful! Not at all trashy 😉 Anybody that follows the reduce, reuse, recycle philosophy is alright in my book!

Hotel Finn - Trash Room *
Hotel Finn – Trash Room *

* Photo credit Hotel Finn website / http://www.hotellifinn.fi

Important details:
Street address: Kalevankatu 3 B, 00100 Helsinki, Finland
Telephone: +358-9-6844 360 / Fax: +358-9-6844 3610
WWW: http://www.hotellifinn.fi
Email: reservations@hotellifinn.fi

 

Leave a Reply

